Turf Green award winners announced

The MRTF Distinguished Service Award Reception took place last month at the Indiana Green Expo.

February 14, 2017
Industry News

Winners of the 2016 Midwest Regional Turf Foundation (MRTF) Green Awards were announced last month at the Indiana Green Expo in Indianapolis during the educational sessions and the MRTF Distinguished Service Award Reception.

The purpose of the annual MRTF Green Awards is to recognize MRTF member facilities that show outstanding environmental stewardship, who implement the highest standard of management practices and who continue to improve the quality of the turf industry. The Green Awards Committee was privileged to get an in depth look at several excellent MRTF member facilities. Several of these were quite impressive, with winners in the following industry categories:

Golf division
Victoria National of Newburgh, Indiana – Kyle Callahan, golf course superintendent

Athletic field division - public
City of Fishers, Indiana – Mike Weir, facilities superintendent and team leaders: Ben Chesney, Shawn Martz, Jason Stevens, Juan Puente and Don Szemko

Athletic field division – private
Bishop Chathard High School Softball, Indianapolis, Indiana – Thomas Mahaney, grounds manager

The winning submissions can be found on the website, www.mrtf.org

The submission webpage for this year’s Green Awards will be open soon to accept applicants in the golf, lawn care/landscape and athletic field divisions. You can self-nominate, or nominate a peer facility that you feel deserves such recognition.

The Midwest Regional Turf Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)3 foundation. The mission of the MRTF is to support turf research and education at Purdue University for the advancement of the turfgrass industry.