Association News: July 2000

Departments - Industry News

July 12, 2000

The Mid-American Horticultural Trade Show board of directors held elections for its new officers. Bliss Nicholson was elected president, Larry Thalmann III was elected vice president, Richard Worth was elected secretary and John Hendricksen was elected treasurer. Two new directors were also appointed: Kurt Meyer and Greg Oltman.

The Responsible Industry for a Sound Environment (RISE) launched a program to attract new members from pesticide formulation and distribution companies. Part of this program includes the distribution of a new brochure, which outlines RISE membership opportunities and includes testimonials from specialty pesticide industry leaders. To receive a copy of the brochure or to become a member, call RISE at 202/872-3860 or visit

The American Horticultural Society announced its 2000 annual award winners. Some of the winners include: Frank Cabot, who received the Liberty Hyde Bailey Award for making a significant contribution in horticulture education; William Carlson, who received the H. Marc Cathey Award for horticultural research; and Pierre Bennerup, who received the Commercial Award for outstanding individual service in commercial horticulture. For information on additional award recipients, please call 703/768-5700 or visit

The Las Vegas Chapter of the Nevada Landscape Association named its 2000-2001 board members. John Cerul is past president, John Marman is president, Ralph Hollander is president elect, Bruce Royer is secretary-treasurer, and Helen Stone, Don Crawford and Kalyn Foster are directors.